Verband Deutscher Mineralbrunnen with a new Board of Directors

During the regular general meeting of the Verband Deutscher Mineralbrunnen (VDM), which took place in Augsburg on 24 April 2023, the board of directors was newly elected for the next three years. As the new Chairman of the VDM, Roel Annega takes over the baton from Dr. Karl Tack, who did not stand for re-election after almost five years in office.

Roel Annega, Chairman of the VDM
© VDM Verband Deutscher Mineralbrunnen e.V.
Source:  Company news

Following the election by the General Assembly, the newly composed VDM Board has appointed Roel Annega, Chairman of the Management Board of Gerolsteiner Brunnen, as the new Chairman of the VDM for the next three years.
"In my role as chairman of the board, I will focus on strengthening our pure natural product in terms of communication and politics. Mineral water is a German cultural asset and one of the most natural foods. This must be brought to the fore in the current debates in order to strengthen the appreciation of the approximately 150 mineral springs," says Roel Annega, Chairman of the VDM and thanked the board members for the trust they have placed in him. Roel Annega has already been a member of the VDM Board since 2020 and has helped shape the association's work. The industry expert and marketing specialist looks back on more than 30 years of experience from various operational functions in the food and beverage industry. Since April 2019, Roel Annega has been Chairman of the Executive Board at Gerolsteiner Mineralbrunnen.
Frank Höhler, FRANKEN BRUNNEN, Nadja Ohlendorf, aquaRömer and Jens Weydringer, Bad Harzburger Mineralbrunnen were elected as new members to the VDM Board by the General Meeting.

The nine-member governing body of the association is thus composed as follows for the election period 2023 to 2026:
Roel Annega (Chairman), Gerolsteiner Brunnen
Dirk Hinkel, Hassia Mineralquellen
Stefan Hoechter, Adelholzener Alpenquellen
Nadja Ohlendorf, aquaRömer
Henning Rodekohr, Vilsa Fountains Otto Rodekohr
Christian Schindel, RhönSprudel
Lilo Sillner, Labertaler Heil- und Mineralquellen Beverages Hausler
Jens Weydringer, Bad Harzburger Mineral Springs

Former Chairman Dr Karl Tack expressed his gratitude to the members of the Board, the General Assembly and the staff of the VDM office for the intensive and purposeful cooperation over the past years: "With its commitment to climate neutrality in 2030, the Association of German Mineral Springs is a pioneer for other sectors and is thus sending a clear signal for sustainable management."
Dr Karl Tack had been a member of the VDM board since April 2010. In August 2018, he took over as Chairman and has had a significant impact on the work of the association. In 2019, for example, the Dialog Natürliches Mineralwasser (DNM) communication initiative was launched, the aim of which is fact-based and scientifically sound educational work.

With the industry initiative "Climate Neutrality 2030" launched at the beginning of 2021, the VDM and the Genossenschaft Deutscher Brunnen (GDB) are accompanying the mineral water industry on the path to climate neutrality. In addition, against the backdrop of the corona pandemic and the ongoing tense economic situation, the strategic further development of the VDM into a modern and influential association was constantly driven forward.

You might also be interested in


Selected Topnews from the beverage industry